Which studio monitors to by?

Hello,

it has been asked million times I quess but I couldn’t find suitable topic.
Are there any decent studio monitors available around 200- 300€ ?
I was looking at m-audio Studiophile BX5a Deluxe (suites with my current budget, amazon’s price 149$, not sure about quality though and I have no chance to test them before ordering).
I’m not sure about mackie products since I had some in old studio and they produced disgusting 6500Hz raise at higher levels.
I appreciate every suggestion.

Regards,
Andres

My suggestion would be to never buy speakers without hearing them first? Preferably in the room they are intended for, but at least in a shop or somewhere.

first of i have to say that im just a hobbyist who aint had the means to try out lots of gear but i do have a set of krk rp5’s, (i’ve put up some bass traps and foam tiles but if i’m honest i dont know how effective it is) when mixing i check between monitors and headphones and find the headphones sound a little brighter, like the high frequencies come through a little more while the krk’s sound a little more dull- BUT when i listen to my mixes on different sound system’s the krk’s without doubt gave me a more realistic representation.

so the krk’s help me make a dull mix every time :laughing:

I have pair of BX5a:s and been quite happy with them. No, they are not my studio monitors but hooked on my TV/DVD-player. But I used them as studio monitors while I was moving from one place to another and needed a quick tiny ITB setup to cope with my “out-of-studio withdrawal syndrome”. Of course they can’t replace my Genelec 1032:s, but I was positively surprised how well they performed during that period.

I would go not by what you hear in a shop (as this can be so deceptive unless you have the ears of the cat and can intellectually compensate for the ambience room size and shop furniture_. I would go by reputation.