Whole note frustration

Hi all, this is my first time on this forum, and I apologize if this has been asked already.

I have several bars of half notes that I want to change to whole notes, but no matter what I try, changing a half note in any bar to a whole results in the next measure being pushed further ahead or else its duration being changed. I have tried on insert mode and chordal mode, this seems like a fundamental thing but for the life of me I cannot figure out how to simply change notes to whole notes, without messing up the next bar. I’ve included some pictures below, thanks in advance.

Hi Margarine_Butter, welcome to the forum!

I think the main problem might be that your current time signature has 3 quarter notes in each bar, not 4. What happens if you select those notes and just press . (period) to add a rhythm dot (i.e. an extra quarter note) to the selected notes?

In general, Insert mode pushes subsequent notes backwards by the added duration, and pulls them in closer if your shorten notes. Chords allows notes to overlap/build up chords.

Hi Lillie, thanks for your quick reply. Extending the notes by one quarter note isn’t the same as a whole note, unfortunately, so when moving to the next bar there is a noticeable pause in the playback, which is what I’m trying to avoid. Adding a tie to the dotted half notes successfully removes this pause, but this is a very tedious process and makes it hard to edit, since I now have to remove the tie if I want to change one note or the other. What I’m looking for isn’t to change music notation convention, but setting custom note lengths would be a huge boon for ease of use. For instance, what if I want a note duration that is in between longa and maxima? There seems to be no way to do this at the moment.
Annotation 2020-07-31 164353.png