Why is Dorico so poor?

I purchased Dorico 2 a couple of years ago to replace my now very out of date ‘Encore’. I am an experienced composer arranger and am accustomed to turning out several arrangements a week for fairly large ensembles. So why don’t I use Sibelius? - because I play all the parts in using a midi keyboard in ‘real-time’.
I purchased Dorico because it appeared that it had that ability - how wrong that seems now.
In Encore, you set off recording and the nice little program lets you keep playing, adding more and more bars as you record. In Dorico you add the bars before you set off? - Fine - I’ll set up a template and add 200 bars using shift +B - OHHHH NO I WON’T! - you press shift + B type in any number from 1 to 200 and guess what happens! - NOTHING! No bars appear . You have a single bar with a crotchet rest to record in - VERY USEFUL.
How did the company that created Cubase create this dreadful piece of software.
Can anyone help?

2 Likes

You have to add a time signature. In more recent versions of Dorico you now get a warning if you type Shift-B without a time signature.

If you don’t add a time signature Dorico can’t possibly know how long to make each bar. It really is that simple.

6 Likes

It is worth pointing out though that the warning only pops up (in my experience, at least) if you try to add bars via the right panel. No popup if you try to add bars via the popover.

2 Likes

You can also add a load of beats without adding a time signature - so in the Shift-B popover, enter something like “200q” to add 200 quarter note beats.

3 Likes

Thanks Leo - this is such a frustrating piece of kit. Encore is a tiny little program but it knocks the socks of Dorico for ease of use!

Thanks Lillie - I’m determined to get my head round this but it does seem ridiculously over complicated

1 Like