Windows to Mac - HELP PLEASE!!!!

My PC which is pretty outdated anyhow, has been struck by a virus. Time to get a new one, and the whole world is telling me I should get a Mac. I have a handful of really important questions, to me, anyhow :slight_smile:.

1. Iā€™ve been using Cubase 5. It works for my purposes, so I never bothered with any updates. Can I update to Cubase 7? Or would I have to purchase that, which wouldnā€™t seem entirely right. If I can upgrade, how do I go about doing that?

2. What will become of all my Cubase projects if I switch to Mac? Will I be able to save them on on a hard drive and get them up and running on a Mac?

3. How steep is the PC to Mac learning curve, when it comes to navigation, files, etc. I have 20 yrs of learning on a PC, no experience on a Mac. Will I regret making the switch?

Thanks in advance.

Go to Cubase: Music Production Software - DAW | Steinberg

Yes, you can also search the forum to see posts about success with this.

Depends on you, itā€™s still a computer, not that dissimilar.

And some of us would say they are wrongā€¦ (and they also say we should all be using Pro Tools!)

A properly configured modern PC will be faster and less expensive than a Mac. Unless you are properly skilled at building a proper DAW PC, however, you could have one built by a reputable DAW builder and have a fast, stable machine that is virtually trouble free for less money than you will spend with Apple. C7 is incredibly stable on my Win 7 64 PC - FWIW.

+1 here. It seems that a lot of the issues facing Cubase users are on Macs. My impression is that a PC makes sense financially as well as not having to put up with all that Apple crap.

This is not necessarily factual, though.

I would find a way to try out a Mac and see what your thoughts are.