Wish list for Dorico 2.0

Dear Daniel, dear All,

I’ve started to use Dorico in my real projects. It’s fun and produces the most beautiful score I’ve ever seen. :slight_smile:
Below are my experiences and feature requests for future versions.

Dorico is great, can’t wait for the next version!
Thank you for this software to happen!

Cheers,
Tamas

Handling:

It’s very different from the others, and a lot of functionality is available only through the popover (so kind of hidden).
Fortunately, there’s a lot of tutorial on the Dorico YouTube channel, and I’ve found everything I needed to write with a little bit of Googling.
Great work! :slight_smile:

My usage of Dorico:

I’m a classically trained composer, so I’d like to use Dorico primary for composing while using my own sample instruments (the same ones I use for making the mockup, practically using a big orchestral template with Dorico) OR other instruments while on the road with my notebook.
After writing the music in Dorico I’d like to export it to MIDI to import it into my DAW for fine-tuning ONLY.
I’d like to create printed scores and parts during/after the composition process.
I’d like to hide specific and unused staffs from the printed score.

My Experiences:

I’ve tried Dorico on my Notebook with its built-in audio card and I’ve experienced audio dropouts even with the included demo scores with HALion Sonic SE. It’s clearly a Cubase audio engine issue as it always requested a proper audio card with an ASIO driver in order to work as expected. I’m not sure if it can be fixed, but it is something that makes Dorico unuseable on the road with a notebook (at least for PC notebooks, Apple may have better audio cards built-in). It may be worked out with an external USB audio interface, but that’s not really comfortable in most of the cases (for example on a plane).

I can say that Dorico is definitely starting to get to the point when all of the above become reality.