WL7 on Mac has Digital distortion

Hi All,

I’m new to WL. So far, I think the program is really great, having said that, I have a serious problem.
I’ve done searches and have not seen this issue yet.

My setup is as simple as it gets. I only use WL7 to capture at 44.1/16. So… there are no plugs or external hardware inserts in my session. When I’m recording a file, 90% of the time, there will be a loud burst of digital, buzzy-distortion louder than the track… like I’ve lost sync.

I do not believe it’s my hardware or system. I can record all day with the same inputs on PTHD9, Studio One, N4, Wave Editor and MixBuss without one glitch. I’m recapturing my mixes with a Genex GXAD on the dig-in of my MacPro 8 Core 2.8… has anyone experienced this?

Maybe I’m missing a level of clock settings in the program? Maybe WL7 needs to be set up differently than all the others I’ve mentioned? Meanwhile, my work around is to capture in anything else and then import to WL7… kind of a drag.

Part Two:
Since I monitor the output of WL7, I’ve noticed that the sound of the program really changes from “input monitor” to actually recording. This is unsettling, do any of you have the same issue? I’ll do the test, but “in the end” does the captured file sound like “input” or “record?”

Thanks in advance for any information.

Are you saying that once you capture a recording and play it back it sounds different?
Are you recording at 16/24/32 bits? … I imagine that when we monitor it’s at 32 bits. If we record at 16 and play it back, it should sound different . .
PG, Am I talking nonsense? . . .
Cheers

The recorded signal is saved in the bit resolution you specify. If you record a 24 bit stream and save it as 16 bit, it won’t be playback later as you monitor it. The bit resolution you specify in the Recording dialog is important.

Hi Guys, Thanks for the replies.