WL9.0.10 Elements export oddities

I’ve been using WaveLab Elements for several years, starting with 7. I’m finding a lot to like in 9, but the changes to export really are quite odd. I hope I’m not complaining because it is different, but because these are real concerns.

In the past (7-8) when I exported a range, a dialog like save/save-as popped up. The new screen is fine. But on that screen, the default input focus is not the most frequently changed (the file name) as in the previous versions. And, using the [tab] key to switch between fields does not work (major pain, making me reach for the mouse!).

Next, the export now includes rendering, which is handy, but it was a non-intuitive change. After exporting a batch of files with clipping because I had a gain plugin inline I figured out that I needed to check “bypass master section.” That is sticky, so not too much of a pain long-term. But it took me a bit to figure out what was going on.

Most importantly, however, is the behavior on that screen if you press [return]/[enter]. In the previous versions the dialog box went away. Now the export starts but there is ZERO(!!!) visible indication that this takes place. I have to manually switch to the waveform view to see that the export has started. If I press the “start” button on the screen it switches to the waveform and behaves reasonably. This is inconsistent and confusing behavior. Make the [return] behave EXACTLY like clicking “start” for a consistent experience.

In sum, my requests are, on the export screen

• default input focus to the “name” field
  • make tabbing between fields work
  • make pressing [return] and clicking “start” behave the same way (do what “start” does)
  • maybe have some visual cue that the plugins/sample-rate/dither are active (low priority)

Thanks!

Since submitting this, I’ve made a few adjustments to make my workflow better match the tool.