Workflow? Anything wrong?

Hello,

I know there’s another work flow topic. So, I apologize if I should have posted there. I didn’t want to get lost in the clutter.

I’m new to Wavelab and mastering and am wondering if my workflow is unusual, or if there is a better way

Here’s my workflow:

1. Audio Mixdown from Cubase at 96/32 float. Set up a file folder called “Source Files”. Open files in the Audio File work space

2. Make edits in the Audio File work space (crop file lengths to audible sections, do fade ins and outs etc) and apply Mastering Plugins to the Master Section of the Audio File work space.

3 Use Peak Master then Crystal Resampler plugins in final slots, then render without dithering a High Bit Resolution (HBR) file that is at 44.1/32 bit float. Name each song as “SongM01_HBR”. Put these in a file folder called “Mastering HBR Files”.

4 . Bring all the HBR files into the Audio Montage. Align them in order. Name them, do all crossfades between songs. Use the Wizard to determine time between songs.

1. Burn CD or DDP, using a 16 bit dithering plugin on the Master Section. Save the Montage.

6 With the HBR files intact, I use them as source files to make MP3’s in the Audio File work space.

I am under the impression that the Crystal Resampler is superior to resampling in Cubase’s Audio Mixdown. Is this true?

Thanks to anyone with experience/comments!

It does seem like a reasonable workflow, as long as you trust Crystal Resampler more than an D-A/A-D cycle. The double conversion cycles is what most high end mastering houses use, but I have not tried using Crystal Resampler yet, nor made any comparisons.

If you do not have another delivery method that will make use of 96k, and unless you don’t want to have the 96k as an archive file, then one should consider how the end product best reflects your original mix sound. If Crystal is that good, perhaps the method you are using is the best way to achieve that.