workflow for guitar players that use VST Amp Modelers

I am new to Cubase. I have used daw software going all the way back to Cool Edit Pro (who remembers that one?). Was a Sonar user, then switched to Reaper. I also have worked with Studio One.

So far Cubase is nice. There are a few things about it that I am having to get used to but one of the biggest is the workflow doesn’t seem overly friendly for guitar players that use VST Amp Modelers to track with. In Reaper and Studio one I can easily route any tracks output as a input for a new track. This makes bouncing down in realtime very quick and easy, which when you get a lot of guitar sims up and running in a project is a handy way of cleaning them up and saving CPU.

I never use FREEZE or anything similar that does a faster than real time render/bounce. I have been hozed too many times by the frozen track containing drop outs and other artifacts.

So question, does anyone else run into this issue and what workflow do they use if any to improve this? Thanks.

Cubase is great too use with Vst amp modlers.

The thing you are missing is how cubase routs audio.

Cubase has 2 mixers.
-vst mixer wich is what you see in your project window.
-mixer wich is the inputs and outputs you setup with your audio interface.

So say you want that reaper/studio one workflow of rendering, all you have to do, is use the mixer outputs, wich you route your vst mixer (vst modler) tracks too, as inputs for the new vst mixertracks. You can see outputs as a input option on a vst mixer channel. That is the mixer outputs. Just make shure to make alot of output options when you setup your audio interface. It will make multi rendering alot more easy and time saving.

Now for tracking you have the option of printing the plugin to the vst mixer, by having it as a insert on a mixer input.
You can just monitor the plugin by having it as a insert in the vst mixer.