Workflow help

Hi all,

I’ve been using Cubase a for a few years now, and I have yet to develop a really solid workflow. Would some of you be willing to take a moment and help me out? There are a few things that I’ve always been frustrated with that I either haven’t figured out yet or don’t exist in Cubase. If you could help me sort out the items below, it would work wonders for my workflow:

1. I want to be able to create a new group track and have it insert into the track list directly below my selected track. Presently whenever I create a new group track, it always gets inserted in the group tracks folder at the bottom, which means I have to click and drag it all the way up if I want to put it next to the instrument(s) it will be associated with. I like to keep my send effects close to the instruments that I’m sending to them.

2. I want to record automation in the MIDI track in the same way I record it in the automation lane. Presently I prefer the lane, because it represents my recorded automation by a few handles joined by straight lines. These are easier for me to edit than the zillions of MIDI CC data points that are recorded when I record automation in the MIDI track itself. One of the downsides is that I can’t record multiple takes of the automation.

3. When I add a new track, I want its default output to be a group track that I specify and not to an output bus. There have been many occasions where I create a mixdown of my “sub mix” bus–the bus where I think I’ve routed all my instruments to–only to realize afterwards that one of my instruments was routed directly to the Main Mix output and was not included in the mixdown.

4. Colors! Ugh! Whenever I create multiple new MIDI or audio tracks, I get a fricken rainbow. Can’t they all default to one color?