Workflow? New to WL, Not to Mastering

Hello, I’m brand new to WL - just bought WL8, but I’ve mastering for years, originally in Sonic Solutions. I’ve also been a Nuendo user since 2003 or so. I’ve found the workflow in WL difficult to grasp and I’m not sure whether the manual or the program itself is at fault or it’s just that I don’t work well with electronic text files (probably both), but…it hasn’t helped me much.

The way I see it so far you have the following hierarchy:

Audio Files (and the Audiofile Editor or Sample Editor in Nuendo)
The Audio Montage (Project in Nuendo - God I would kill for some consistency between these products)
In the Montage we have clips and something called super clips that I haven’t used yet.

Then there’s the plug-in workflow/signal flow: The bezier line automation appears to PRE - clip plug-ins. Splitting any clip that has a plug-in on it already automatically doubles the number of plug-in instantiations and DSP allocated (bad for UAD). This is a serious limitation of clip editing/clip plug-ins - to the point that it almost makes plugs at this level not worth using.

Then there are Track Plug-ins. To use this we are committed to having one song per track. Not a big deal but the constant vertical zooming is a bit annoying. There is a gain/pan control for the track that I guess is post-Track Plugin?