Writing a piece in different simultaneous time signatures

Hi,

I am a composer and I’ve used Finale and Sibelius. I can’t get either product to do what I want to do. It’s an Odd request but I’ve been wanting both Finale and Sibelius to do this for 25 years!

What I am looking to do is have different lines in different Time signatures. For instance combine 4/4 and 6/8 where you would keep the 8th not in common and the bars would not line up evenly but the piece could be played with one group of musicians in 6/8 and the other group in 4.4.

My idea has been to say write a 20 minute Quartet in 6/8, another different 20 minute quartet in 4/4, then have both quarters come out and play the same piece together for a whole different piece.

To do this I’d have to be writing the one in 6/8 and the one in 4/4 separately and together, so when played back I’d hear both time signatures of pieces played back at the same time with keep the 8th note in common.

Does this make sense and is this possible? I could see this feature being implemented but I don’t see this feature being asked for.

Another example would be 1st violins in 4/4, 2nd violins in 3/4, violas in 6/8, and cellos in 5/4. The bars would not line up but the notes would keeping the 8th note in common and playback together.

Let me know if you can make these dreams happen?

Thanks!

Different time signatures ?

See the note at Step 6:
“To input a time signature only on the selected staff or staves across which the caret extends, press Alt/Opt-Return.”

Does this help?

Different Time Signatures played at the same time. Sorry “key” was a typo.

What I am talking about is one like being in 4/4, another one in 3/4, anther in say 6/8 but they all line up by the Eight note vertically but the bars would not like up because each staff would be playing in a different time signature.