Writing to automation track using keyboard

Hi. I’m new to this. I want to record Retrologue filter cutoff to an automation track using my Arturia KeyLab 49 MkII. As far as I can tell, I should be able to “Learn CC” on the knob, tick Write, and hit Play, and voila. But it doesn’t seem to be that easy. It seems to sort of work, but not entirely. It records to “MIDIChann…ackTime)” rather than to “Retrologu…terCutoff”, which is what will be recorded when I just use the mouse to move the knob in the VST. That doesn’t seem right. On the other hand, Retrologue seems to behave correctly anyway.*

So that’s the banal technical question. Another, bigger, problem, is that I don’t seem to understand how this is all meant to integrate. The keyboard has a bunch of knobs and faders and buttons. Are they supposed to, by default, not be connected to anything in instruments like Retrologue, or is this supposed to be somewhat standardised and thus “just work”? Am I meant to set it up myself, and if so how? Basically, any pointers to what I should be reading up on to understand the basic workflow here would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

• EDIT: It does not behave correctly. If I modify the curve at all, the cutoff filter stops responding appropriately. I do not know why it works if I don’t modify them, as it seems to me that it’s simply recording for the wrong parameter.

Hi Bernalex.
As I see it sb should explain to you how to set up and use your midi controller from scratch - what I’m not completely able to. But I think I can give you a hint on your problem.
Setting up the controller is explained in the handbook. If it is one of the ones “stored” in Cubase it should be bassicaly be: plug in and go (Studio>Setup>Devices>add Device). The other ones (generic) have to be put in “manually” (Studio>Setup>Midi or Vst and Track Quick controlls).