zoom r16 setup with cubase le

Hi All,
Complete newb at this and I’ve already spent my day only recording a high degree of frustration and nothing else.

HAve a ZoomR16 console and have finally tried to use it with Cubase 7LE (using windows10). All drivers and firmware are updated, and in the device setup/VST Audio system, I have the zoom R16 selected. That’s kind of where it stops. The menu page under VST for the zoom gives nothing that can be selected and curiously, latency has question marks after if???
Everything on the VST connections page is fixed on “not connected” and I’m unable to select anything else.
I was able to set it as a mackie control but that to has also mysteriously vanished without an option to reselect. I’ve reinstalled driver, reinstalled cubase but I just cannot get to a point of having any audio seletions available.
If i change something on cubase, I get the little piano “ping” through the speakers(monitors from the zoom) so there is some connection.
Any advice?

Hi and welcome,

Zoom drivers are very unstable. I would recommend to use ASIO4ALL instead.