ZoomH4n USB Mic recording problems

I’ve been trying to avoid this, but here goes!
I’m new to Cubase - (using LE AI 10). Slowly getting my head around it. I’m putting together a demo of my Cigarbox Guitars, see:
cigarboxblues.com.au

I’m having no trouble dropping in and editing existing tracks earlier recorded on my Zoom H4n, but I’ve spent way too much time trying to record an audio track ‘direct’ using the H4n mic. The Zoom H4n is setup in Audio Connections and connected to USB, Studio setup done. (I think!)

The VUs on the console show the signal from the mic, but I just can’t get it to record. I seem to have tried everything, but I’m sure it’s some silly little detail I’ve missed. I’ve been through plenty of Youtube instructions but can’t find any which use the H4n mic.

I’m looking forward to getting more familiar with Cubase. I had a little (8 track) analogue studio, along with ‘neolithic’ midi devices ‘back in the day’, and I’m very familiar with computers (MAC and PC - heavy duty graphic design etc) so that’s no problem.
Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers, Jools

Hi,

Are you on Mac or Windows, please?

Mac 27" - thx Martin.

Hi,

Make sure Cubase has enabled Mic in the System Preferences, please.
Open macOS System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy > Microphone. Enable Cubase here.

I had a H4 but the H4n may be similar. The electret mics on the H4 are only for the recorder itself. When you connect it via USB the stereo inputs you see are the combi jacks, not the electret mics, so for example you connect a guitar with a 1/4" jack or an external mic with an XLR connector to the H4 and record that within Cubase.

Interesting Martin, I hadn’t thought of looking in ‘Security & Privacy’ for the Mic. With my H4n plugged in and on, there’s no sign of any reference to a mic in there though (I’m running High Sierra 10.13.6). The Mic reference is in ‘Sounds’.