2023 Musicworks Electronic Music Composition Contest

The 13th annual Musicworks Electronic Music Composition Contest Opens August 1, 2023

For immediate release: Toronto, Canada, August 1, 2023—The thirteenth annual Musicworks Electronic Music Composition Contest opens August 1, 2023. We invite you to share the with your readers, audiences, and communities.

Our annual juried contest spotlights new musical talent from around the world, offering cash prizes and opportunities to be heard and published. In 2022, we received 179 submissions from across North America, as well as from Brazil, Greece, Ukraine, and many more places.

First prize: C$500, a composer profile in Musicworks in 2024, and the composition released on the accompanying Musicworks CD.
Second prize: C$200 and composer coverage on musicworks.ca in 2024.
Third prize: C$100 and composer coverage on musicworks.ca in 2024.

Marcelle Deschênes Prize in Electronic Music / prix Marcelle Deschênes pour la musique électronique: C$300 and a composer profile in 2024. This prize is open to entrants who self-identify as female or non-binary.

Compose and submit an experimental piece in any electronic-music genre—acousmatic, electroacoustic, glitch, soundscape, intelligent dance music (IDM), turntable art, or video music. The contest is open to entries from anywhere in the world and from artists at any stage of their careers. Pieces must be previously unpublished (i.e. not released on a commercially available recording at the time of submission).

Maximum length: 10 minutes.

Accepted file types: MP3 or MP4 only.

Contest entry fee: C$30. Unlimited additional entries are C$5 each.
All entrants receive a one-year print subscription to Musicworks ($44–$59 value).

Contest closes October 31, 2023.

Prize details, eligibility, assessment criteria, rules and restrictions, and the entry portal can be found at musicworks.ca

Please note: cash prizes and entry fees are listed in Canadian dollars.

Previous Electronic Music Composition Contest First-place Winners

2022 Leah Reid (Massachusetts / Virginia)
2021 Mariana Vieira (Portugal)
2020 Rocío Cano Valiño (Argentina / France)
2019 Alex Buck (Brazil / California)
2018 Manuella Blackburn (Manchester, U.K.)
2017 Erik Ingalls (Windsor, Ontario)
2016 Craig Aalders (Vancouver, British Columbia)
2015 Juan Camilo Vásquez (Bogota, Colombia)
2014 James O’Callaghan (Montreal, Quebec)
2013 Margaret Noble (San Diego, California)
2012 Bennett Jenisch (Los Angeles, California)
2011 Ian Battenfield Headley (NYC)