5.1 headphones

Hello all,

I am a sound designer working on surround sound productions. Some times I edit sounds at home using a normal headphone and later take it into my studio to do further work on it. Now I have recently seen some surround sound headphones and I wonder if any of you have used any of those surround headphones for pro audio sound editing. If so please tell me what headphones you guys use for it. Also I would welcome recommendations for good 5.1 head phones.

Thank you

There are some models, but IMHO this was all consumer stuff. Stereo headphones already show a very different picture than monitors due to missing crosstalk and a different phase behaviour. So, with surround headphones this would be probably so bad that is is close to useless.

Plus, if such headphones would be available, they would probably be 4.0, not 5.1. LF and C → how should that work ?

Hello yourself!

1 - never - it’s impossible to do this properly, as you only have 2 speakers and not 5.
2 - See above.
3 - Sorry, but there is no such thing. Headphones by definition are 2 channel devices, and any “surround” type effect is a result of DSP & psychoacoustics. Whilst it might be fun, it should never under any circumstances be trusted. You cannot beat discrete channels.

This thing is not bad…
I tried it at AES convention and it made a good impression, but still not as good as conventional 5.1 monitors…

Big K

But it is not good either - it’s a gimmicky piece of @%8! to my mind.
to mix in 5.1 you need, well, a surround monitor system - not headphones with DSP fluff.

I know this thing (sorry, only in french) Realiser-A8 : AV-in - virtualisation au casque avec le SMYTH Realiser A16
Based on HRTF, but quite expensive.

I personally use IRCAM HEar from Flux:: : Ircam HEar v3 - FLUX:: Immersive

I agree.
As I said: no replacement for real 5.1 monitoring.

Big K

:unamused: