60fps with H.264 encoding

Hi,

I am a composer working for a sound and music for video games company. We really need to find a way to use the right encoding for our video captures. The thing is, our sound designers want to work in 60fps and it kind of makes sens when working with video games.

Now most of our sound design team are still work with Cubase 8.5 or 9 because H.264 works great at 60fps. The video engine switch in Cubase 9 our 9.5 can’t remember, was a disaster for them and I kind of agree.

For me, I’d be fine with 24fps but we need to find a standard render setting for 60fps that everyone in the company can use and we’d be glad to upgrade all the stations to Cubase 10.

We’ve tried the DNxHD extra licence and it works but file size are gigantesque and not an option since we have hours of gameplay of video captures we have to work with.

I have gone through the Steinberg recommended encoding settings for H.264 and all seems to be in order. I’m converting with XMedia Recode with all the B-Frames and P-Frames and frame interval suggested settings. I’m still not able to get a working 60fps H.264 playback in Cubase 10. No issue in Cubase 8, just saying.

His anyone successfully working with 60fps H.264 in Cubase 9.5 or 10.

If so, please share with us your encoding secrets!

Cheers,

1 Like

What kind of problem are you experiencing with 60fps H.264 video files?

Usually I work with 24fps (cinema) videos.
But I’ve just tested again some 60fps files without any problem:

720p 60fps and 59.940fps videos: smooth playback
1080p 60fps video: not smooth here on my machine (it probably depends on computer’s power).

All videos: MP4 H.264 16:9 (NTSC)
Video stream: AVC
Audio Stream: AAC LC
Profiles: Main 3.2 for 720p (bitrate ~8-9 Mb/s), and 4.2 for 1080p (bitrate ~36 Mb/s)

Clips created with either Premiere Pro or Vegas Pro.

Edit: same results with files encoded using XMedia