9.5 does not create thumbnail cache for videos

Hi,

after upgrading to 9.5 for imported videos no thumbnail cache is generated. I only get a message “missing thumbnail cache”. Even recreating thumbnail cache does not help.

I am importing videos, exported with premiere: 720p, h.264, CBR … nothing special.

The video is playing in the player. My video is “Video.mp4” and cubase generates a file “Video.v2cache”.

Anybody having the same issues? What to do?

Hi,
I have the same problem, have you fixed ?

Hi Make sure your video is converted with H.264 encoder and not MPEG4 encoder and it’s a .mov and everything should
work fine that what solved my problem
JFR

I have been using CUBASE for 15 years :slight_smile:) nothing special at all… CUBASE always have so funny BUGS but this is an ““important”” one. after 9.5 or 9.5.10 we have a little cuty “BUG”… Thank you Steinberg :slight_smile:) but you have to fix it SOOOO QUICKLY…

Can you please tell me what software you use to encode the video to H.264
I tried with this : www.h264encoder.com/

but its still showing missing thumbnails.

I dont know why, but it looks like audio and picture are delayed by milliseconds, even though I put the audio right on spot with picture. Please help !!

I use “wondershare ultimate video converter”… it’s fast and correct…
for the delay problem; if you use capture card you have to adjust offset (ms) on the menu video player in studio setup in cubase 9.5, if you do not use a capture card it’s because of the codecs or the algorithm of the converter software…

missing thumbnails; as JFR told above is perfect on mov (H264) but there is still a bug on mp4 (H264)… because never happened before…
Good Luck…

Hi folks!
Even mov doesn’t works for me!
Video player is working ok, but no thumbnails.
Mov has been generated using this online converter:

I’m working with videos on almost every day basis…
This is very frustrating bug :frowning: