A Beginner's Guide

I’m working on compiling pertinent info into a concise guide for new users: Dropbox - File Deleted - Simplify your life

You can see it’s obviously in progress. Input, additions, and corrections welcome. There are some things that I have no experience using, like percussion maps. So I won’t even address those, unless someone wants to chip in.

I do welcome assistance, if anyone would like to contribute their expertise on a particular section. I will work on it as I have time. Sleep is overrated, anyways.

I am trying to make it succinct, NOT comprehensive… a middle-ground solution for those who learn by reading, but who prefer a more readable format! So there will be plenty of details that may get left out. Which ones are crucial and which are not… well, opinions may differ on that. :wink:

I’m particularly interested in key commands and features that some users may not be aware of. It’s inevitable, since development is so rapid.

PS: this is in no way intended to disparage the existing official resources, which are excellent. The online manual, the YouTube videos, and the forum are all great sources of information. This is just my effort to provide an additional option for fellow users.

1 Like

Kudos, Dan, for undertaking this task. Many will be appreciative.

Took a moment to read it. Outstanding so far. I was reminded of a couple of things I’d forgotten, and a couple I didn’t know about.

I have looked at the second version of your guide briefly while having Dorico open and like DaddyO was once again reminded of things I’d forgotten and also learned about several new things. For new users or occasional users like me, your guide is just what the doctor ordered. I hope you don’t mind me following up with a private message if I have any suggestions after a more comprehensive read. Your guide should be one of the “go to” resources for new users and I hope that happens!

Thanks for sharing