Acoustic fingerpicking volume.

Hello and good day to all,

I was wondering if anybody would be so kind as to help me out please?

I have Cubase 7 essentials and have been having lots of trouble getting the volume high enough when recording acoustic guitar fingerpicking. I am pretty new to recording and any help would be very handy indeed. I have the fader nearly full, I have double tracked and panned Left and Right. I have tried with Pod farm effects and just straight in to Cubase also, none seem to be loud enough? (I might be missing a trick or two?) I keep having to drop the surrounding sound of the bass, vocals and other instruments to be able to hear the main fingerpicking riffs.
I am after a basic clean acoustic sound with little to no reverb which is loud enough to hold its own in the recording.
I would be very grateful indeed for any help on this matter.
Have a nice day folks and thanks again. cheers
Andy :smiley:

Aloha c,

Here is one approach:

Even when the original recorded track level is fine, I will sometimes have a track that is hard to hear/fit in the mix
because it ‘sounds’ low.

In these cases I will sometimes put in a compressor plug, set to ‘no compression’
but use the ‘make-up gain’ feature of the compressor to act as a sort of ‘clean amplifier’.

This helps it sit in the mix without having to lower all the other instruments/vox tracks.

A quick way to do this is to just add a ‘maximizer’ plug to the track but keep in mind that
this type of plug will also add compression and colour to the sound.

Good Luck!
{‘-’}

Or increase the Input Gain in the Pre Rack. (if CE has a pre rack…)

I don’t have essentials but if you can control the volume of the audio event (via the Info line) then you can turn this up too. I find this is very useful because the waveform displayed in the event gets bigger too so you can see it on-screen along with the louder events on other tracks as well as hear it better.

Mike.