Add my own FX to Groove Agent channels?

Hey guys,

I’m new to Cubase, and I understand how to assign an output to a Groove Agent slot, and then add an effect but inside of Groove Agent I can only see the basic effects, but not my own installed vsts. Is there a way to easily apply my own effects to channels within Groove Agent?

Thanks in advance

It’s been a while since I’ve dug deep into GA, but I think there’s a setting in GA that expands all its internal mixing onto the Cubase mixer, and I do mean ‘everything’. From there you should be able to use your third party plugins.

Right click one of the kit slots, and choose ‘export to mixer and fx to cuebase’.

Now notice how a new bus entry shows up in my Project View called “Kit Mix”, and it’s all expanded out in my Cubase Mixer. I’m easily able to drop a 3rd party instance of the Reverence reverb plugin from Waves, as I’ve done here for the Kick drum channel.

Also take a look at the mixing console strip, and you can see that the internal effects (EQ and compressors) this particular kit used are also present in the export process.

Some kits might have multiple busses routed into yet more busses, etc.
Note, the Mixing panels inside Groove Agent itself are no longer active once it’s been exported.

So…

Back up your project first and try it with care, as last time I stumbled upon it, I didn’t find any easy/obvious way to undo it. It probably exists somewhere, but I haven’t really taken the time to figure out if there’s a way to undo this.

I do know that if all those faders get in your way, you can show/hide them in the left ‘view’ panel of the Mixing console. You can have 3 independent mixing layouts at your fingertips with Cubase as well, so that can help get things under control if a kit throws up scads of new channels.