Adding midi drums to music

Hello Folks, I’m new to recording and having fun putting my guitar and vocal tracks together with great results!
Here are some examples: Stream Trap Light music | Listen to songs, albums, playlists for free on SoundCloud

I would now like to add some simple drum beats using some kind of program or midi device. I own a midi keyboard.
Is there something built into Cubase 8 or a program to buy that is easy to use to add drums - especially for a noob/non-drummer. I’ve looked over the manual/forums/youtube and cannot understand what function of the drum map.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hi and welcome,

You can use built-in drummer Groove Agent SE. This contains sounds, and loops. See some videos from here, please. This is the full version of Groove Agent 4. In Cubase, there is limited Groove Agent SE version included. But the basis is the same.

Thanks Martin - the demonstrations all start with the groove agent already open - If groove agent is in my Cubase, how would I go about finding it and putting it to use? Trust me, I’m not looking for hand holding - I’ve read, watched and tried everything I can think of.

Hi,

in the Project menu, select Add Track > Instrument. Add Instrument Track window appears. Click to the No VST Instrument, and select Groove Agent SE, here. Now, the VSTi Groove Agent appears.

Maybe, you should have a look on these videos.

I see now what the issue is - Groove Agent is simply not there - only something called Halion synth. Thanks for all your help though Martin - I’ll either buy Groove Agent or something like it.

What version of Cubase do you exactly have? The Groove Agen SE should be part even of Cubase Elements (but I’m not sure with Cubase AI/LE).

I like Addictive drums which has some really nice drum sounds, a demo version is available from the Addictive drums website to try free.