aiff vs wav

Can anyone tell me why Cubase exports in 32bit aiff are incompatible with importing into other apps and systems? RX, Revoice, and LANDR, are three that result in a flatline of digital noise on import.

32bit wavs and 24bit aifs from Cubase import fine. A little bit of research informed me that there are two types of aiffs, but I cannot understand why Cubase would export an incompatible 32bit aiff.

I have switched to wav, but all my previous exports are 32bit aiff. Quicktime Pro will convert 32bit aiff to 32bit wav a lot quicker than loading and re-exporting them in Cubase but I am unsure whether the conversion will degrade the quality.

I’m not a pro about file conversion but I’m pretty sure, there’s no loss from aif to wav. You can do such a conversion and easily check it with a phase flip test.

Good idea. Thanks, I’ll give that a try.

Still don’t understand what the issue is with 32bit aif exports, though. Makes it kind of a useless export option if Steinberg’s version is different than izotope, celemony, synchroarts etc…

I had a large batch of files to convert from aiff to wav and found a batch script to run with SoX encoder. Took a little bit of setting up and head scratching to get SoX working but then you can just drop this batch file into any folder and double click to process every file in that folder and it does it very quickly which would back up the assertion that it is a lossless process (no transcoding needed)
If you import/re-export in Cubase you are actually re-rendering so could get some theoretical loss though I’m sure even this would be negligible.

Post back if you want to try the sox method and I’ll attach the bat file and a basic guide. I think the complex bit was editing the batch file so you should even avoid the head scratching now I did that already.

Hi Grim,

That would be great. I tried the Quicktime conversion, but it didn’t null. Not even close.