Anchor chord symbols to nearest note (and automatically hide if empty)?

Has anyone figured out an efficient workflow for aligning chord symbols with notes when different instruments have different harmonic rhythms (i.e. guitar and piano have syncopated rhythms while bass is chugging away on quarter notes. Having to manually shift every single chord symbol is an awful lot of work… and doubling up the chord symbols and hiding half on each part is just as much if not more work).

Thanks

1 Like

I’m not sure I follow: are you saying that you want to show chord symbols at different rhythmic positions in the different instruments, maybe an eighth note earlier or later in certain instruments because they have syncopated or anticipatory rhythms? I’m not an expert in such matters but I think it might be a little unusual to show the chord symbols in different rhythmic positions for different players like this; if I am understanding you correctly, this is to my knowledge the first time we’ve been asked for such a thing.

Here’s a couple of examples I just found:

From Dear Evan Hansen

From Bring It On

From Legally Blonde

Clearly there are some alternate chord symbols for each player sometimes but the chord placement is following the rhythm.

It feels like using local chord symbols might be the most appropriate way to handle this, i.e. create chord symbols specifically for each player where they differ in this way.

1 Like

In lieu of an automatic solution, perhaps there could be a way to convert a global chord symbol into a local chord symbol? I just tried creating a macro with the following steps:

1. Hide selected chord symbol
  2. Invoke popover
  3. Set popover to local mode
  4. Enter
  5. Un-hide selected chord symbol

But it seems to fail on the final un-hide step?
Convert global chord symbol to local chord symbol.lua (572 Bytes)