Annoying Hum???

First Im kind of new to using more equipment than just an guitar,amp and FX processor.

I recently asked how to split my signal for recording so that I can record my amp and also at the same time a clean signal so I could use to reamp or play with VST plugins such as Amplitube and such.

I was told I would need a preamp mixer and was suggested that I get a Behringer Xenyx802.
I chose to get the 502 model since I didnt need more. Well I have it working but heres the issue.

I run guitar into 502 mic/preamp mixer then one out to my amp multi FX.
I then ruin another out to my M-Audio sound card.
Now as soon as I connect the cable from the M-Audio to the mixer output I get a very annoying humming from the amp I use.
If I unplug it,it goes away. It does not record this sound,its just audible through my amp.

Also I use a Boss GT-8 and Tech21 sound engine for my amp these days since I only play for myself.

This is the exact connections I use:

1. guitar to Behringer 502 mic pre/mixer.
  2. Behringer 502 mic pre/mixer out #1 to GT8 input
    3.GT8 output to Tech21 Sound Engine
    4.Boss GT spdif out to M-Audio(PC)
  3. Behringer 502 mic pre/mixer out #2 to M-Audio(PC) This cable plugged in gives me the hum only into the amp,not the PC or in recordings.

Is there anything I can do to reduce this?
Like I said Im new to using anything more than guitar,amp and effects.

So by connecting your mixer to your audio interface, your amp starts humming?
Interesting :smiley:

Are your power sockets grounded?
Does the humming still occur when you take the Boss pedal out of the signal chain?

I think the problem is that your Boss Pedal and amp are expecting a guitar input, but you’re feeding them a line input from the mixer which is much higher level. You may be able to make this work if you keep the gain on the mixer input channel very low, or if the mixer allows to switch output level to mic level.