Any helpful getting guides?

I’m coming from using reaper for the past few years, and prior to that I’ve used adobe audition and a little bit of sonar here and there… but I just picked up 8 pro and I just can’t seem to do the basic things I need to do… I understand that even if an interface is ’ intuitive ’ that doesn’t mean it’ll be intuitive to everyone… similar to people who find gimp/blender more natural than photoshop/maya…

long story short, I’m working on an album that contains ONLY vsti’s and I had my old studio machine bite the dust, so I have some botched old midi data that I plan on just reworking vst wise(I was using old school miroslav samples, now I own a boat load of instruments) and I picked up waves gold on sale for dirt cheap, then picked up C6 because it looked really useful… only to find out that it’s kind of a vst3 only thing - so I figured hey, I’m primarily a composer, Cubase seems to be ideal for composers(expression maps sound like they could be a godsend) but so far even BASIC tasks seem impossible… tasks like

adding a midi track… then putting a VST on it…
importing a midi track… then putting a vst on it…
importing a midi track for tempo markings(since I have a programmed click that includes tempo/sig changes)
adding busses
adding more than one VST to the same midi signal.

I really do want to learn this - but the official tutorials are just really cheesy plugs for the VST’s they want you to buy the full versions for… basic midi editing didn’t explain anything I needed to know but it sure did tell me all about a plugin I could care less about

1. adding a midi track… then putting a VST on it…
    Project / Add track / MIDI. Then press F11 to open the VST Instruments rack. Activate the required VST Instrument (Rack Instruments menu). Select the VST Instrument in the output routing field of the MIDI track you want to use. Look in the Inspector of the MIDI track for the output routing field.