Any non-musician engineers here??

Aloha guys,

Last night for the first time in my 1000 year life :slight_smile:
I met a studio engineer who told me he has never played a musical
instrument. Ever!

He said years ago he attended the old ‘Trebass’ (sp?) recording school
in Toronto and has never been any kind of musician.

He now has his own studio in the Montreal area. (He is a Pro-Tools user)
And has been doing well for a number of years.
(obviously he is doing well enough to have a vacation here on Maui).
There are many many folks like this at the gearslutz site
but this got me wondering if any Cubase forum users here are the same.

Any engineer types only?
Just curious.

TIA
{‘-’}

I’m a non-engineered music programmer, does that help?

Interesting topic :slight_smile:

I would not consider myself a musician even if I can play several instruments better than a few of my customers, but that’s probably a statement on some of my customers more than myself :laughing:

If you have never played a musical instrument I would imagine you do qualify
as an answer to this post

but

I guess that now brings up another question:

Is the computer a musical instrument in its own right?
{‘-’}

What I mean is similar the the man I met,
someone who has NEVER played a musical instrument on any level.

Someone who has exclusively been only an audio engineer.
And probably wears a white lab jacket while at work :slight_smile: :slight_smile:
{‘-’}

Not really.

In my view it is a scratch pad for ideas (and also a recorder) in terms of MIDI and it is true that you can take things to the nth degree if you are at the top of your game but in and of itself and also due to the fact of the interface(s) being too primitive, I doubt the computer as a device could be classified as a musical instrument parse.

Sure, some musical instruments are primitive in their scope of “operation” but they are also less musical :wink: