anyone using iMac w/Sequel or Cubase?

My PC is getting old and I am interested in buying an iMac to use as my DAW (i am not sure if I can afford a Mac Pro). Its built-on sound chip is not upgradeable and that is a concern. It also has no PCI slots. Apple website doesnt give detailed info for the sound chip either. I am not a professional musician, only a hobbyist. Is anyone using an iMac w/Sequel or Cubase? What is your experience like; especially w/the latency like?

Thanks,
Berk

Yes, an iMac is an excellent platform for a DAW, but like any decent setup, you need to factor in a reasonable audio interface of some kind. Don’t rely on the internal sound card (It actually isn’t that bad but you only have 2 in 2 out and the latency isn’t brilliant)

Something like a Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 at around £120 comes with a couple of really nice preamps and pretty good converters, or a Focusrite Sapphire 6 or the NI Komplete Audio 6 which both add a MIDI I/O (if you need that) which are both under £200.

I recorded my first album on a 2009 core duo iMac with only 4GB RAM with an Alesis firewire mixer as my audio I/O. Every song had 9 tracks of drums, one or two bass, up to 8 tracks of guitars and anything between 6 and 20 virtual instruments (Including some big NI piano libraries) and it never hiccuped.

I agree with Mark. For the moment I’m using Cubase 6.5 on an iMac i5 with 32 gigs of ram, 256 SSD, 1 TB Internal HD and the machine runs like a champ. I’m hosting my VSL, EW, and Kontakt samples on the internal 1 gig TB HD and audio files on an external HD. I’m even using a second monitor connected via thunderbolt.

Honestly this machine rocks. I should be good for the next few years. Hope this helps. :smiling_imp:

Thanks for your responses. I have few follow-up questions: