Anyone using Ozone elements for mastering?

I recently got this seeing it was being offered as a freebie through focusrite. I am still learning it but it seems to be so easy to create something that’s sounds fairly polished so easily.
The first few of my old tracks I remastered I did on the master assistant using high intensity. When I listened to them on my iPad I realised they were too hot and overpowering. Last time I used the medium CD setting on another track and it sounded really good.
To my thinking theres no substitute for proper gain staging of your tracks and plug-ins so Ozone is seeing them at an appropriate input level to work its magic.
I was wondering whether I need a compressor on the master bus with Ozone or not.

I sometimes use Ozone Elements to compare with my attempts at mastering. The AI does a pretty good job, but too extreme for my tastes. You’re right, dial it back and select different presets according to material and taste, and then tweak a bit. As a comparison tool I find it helpful sometimes. None of my mixes have ended up with Ozone on the master channel, but that maybe because my style of music doesn’t need ‘in-your-face’ EQ and limiting.

I’ve been using Ozone 9 and 10 [Advanced], and the Master Assistant is really just a way to get you started. As you observed, it can sometimes suggest a mastering chain that’s too intense (and sometimes, not intense enough!), and its suggested EQ settings usually need pretty significant tweaking.

FWIW, I use Ozone basically as a pre-mastering tool to make demos to share with a limited audience before release, and then have tracks mastered in a dedicated mastering studio by a dedicated mastering engineer for release. Ozone will get you most of the way there, but I’ve yet to see it beat what the mastering engineer does :slight_smile: