ASIO License and Open Source software

Hi!

I work on a couple of synths which are under GPL3. One of them is a JUCE synth and some of our users have asked if the standalone of this could contain ASIO. This is mechanically easy in JUCE.

But to do it, a few headers need to be included in the code. The ASIO license is pretty clearly not compatible with GPL3 software (someone needs to sign it, there’s no redistribution rights without others signing it, etc…) so I shared with the user that I would not be able to do it.

But: you have of course released VST3SDK under a mixed GPL3 license (thank you for that; it has made VST3 possible in the open source synth world in a wonderful way). And so I was wondering if there has been any consideration to doing the same with ASIO, or at least with the ASIO client libraries (I don’t need to write an ASIO driver, it seems, just send ASIO messages out; but honestly I spend most of time time on macOS so I’m not an ASIO expert, I just realized the code wasn’t licensable).

Our workaround is to tell users to execute an ASIO license themselves, set a build flag on our tools, and build themselves. For a tiny subset of our users this works, but most users are not working in environments where they can self-compile and execute a license.

Thanks for your consideration.

3 Likes

Hello!

I’m wondering if theres any further thought on this? It’s a bummer, but the way things stand now at the end of the summer we will end up releasing a set of synths where the standalone exe version is on mac and linux only, because Windows is not useful without ASIO it seems, and ASIO licenses seem to have a incompatibility with GPL3.

Thank you for your time

1 Like