Assigning HALion percussion sounds in Dorico

Hi there,

I’m very sorry if this is a dumb question or if it has already been answered elsewhere, but I haven’t been able to solve it by searching the forums or watching videos.

I’m new to Dorico, and I’m trying to recreate a score that I’ve previously written in Sibelius.
I’m writing for a custom percussion setup with various techniques on each instrument.
How do I change the sounds that are played back? I’m using the HALion library, and I’m sure some of the sounds in that library can work perfectly well for what I’d like, but I can’t figure out how to assign them to what I’m writing (I’m used to just choosing a sound and have it correspond to a specific placement and notehead in Sibelius).

Some sounds are already fine (bass drum and toms for instance) but the different techniques I’ve specified (cross-stick, playing on rim etc.) aren’t playing back with correct sounds, and some instruments aren’t sounding at all.
I would also like to assign some sounds (like a cowbell or the like) to some unspecified metal instruments in the setup.

I can find a lot of tutorials on making custom percussion maps (which is still rather complex and new to me), but as far as I understand they mainly relate to using other VST- or midi instruments. I would just like to manually assign the sounds in HALion to what I’m writing.

Is this possible? Sorry for possible missing the obvious here.

Best regards,
Jonas

1 Like

Hi,
if you’re using Halion and use the default Halion Playback template, you’ll notice that every percussion instrument is automatically given either a dedicated Expression Map or/and a dedicated Percussion Map in the Endpoint setup dialog. (when using Noteperformer, e.g. all percussion instruments are included in the same map. You can also do this for Halion, to a large extent, but then you have to make it up yourself.)