Audio Alignment: The Truth

Okay, so in theory it is an amazing workflow enhancer. But the auto alignment is really unreliable and half-baked. I believe it’s kind of a macro of warping/groove quantize. There doesn’t seem to be any intelligent coding behind it. I might be wrong.

Look at ReVoice Pro! 98% reliable with almost no audio artifacts. Now you can even do pitch correction matching on stacks of vocals etc. as well.

What do you guys think?

Love it. Massive time saver (vs. manual correction). Works best in small chunks (bounced as individual events). My primary use case is double-tracked vocals. I don’t expect miracles. I only expect time savings. It delivers on those expectations. I have no experience with other tools.

Fantastic! But my experience has been very unpredictable with it. Seems like it’s okay for simple double tracking, but for complex vocals stacks with many layers it’s not quite there yet.

I’ve used Vocalign/Revoice a lot. True, It’s often (but not always) more accurate than Cubase Audio Alignment, but it’s also quite a bit slower and faffier to set up, using insert effects and side chains, and it doesn’t give perfect results every time either. (You say 98% of the time, lucky you I’d say! I only get about 75-80% success on a first attempt and it’s a lot slower to get there!) The Cubase Audio Alignment is so very quick to use that I’m now always trying it as a first option. If I can’t get the result I want, I just Ctrl+Z then try Vocalign to see if the results are any better. Vocalign and Revoice have more processing controls but again thiese take time to set up and try. (similarly for vocal tuning and simple alignment Variaudio is useful to to me because it’s so quick and embeded into Cubase. Melodyne and Revoice may be more fully featured but it’s slower more complex workflow.)