Audio Interface for Home Studio

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here! I started electronic music production a couple of months ago using Logic Pro X as my main DAW. After encouraging results, I have decided to invest in a home studio, and the help of experts would be greatly appreciated.

I use a 13-inch Macbook Pro I bought in August 2014 with the following specs: 2.8GHz dual-core Intel Core i5; Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz 8GB 1600MHz memory; 512GB PCIe-based flash storage.

I purchased a Roland TR-8 Drum machine in November (for Live mix as well as production) and I would like to invest in some gear:

• Novation Impulse 49 keyboard
  • A pair of KRK RP5 monitors
  • An audio interface

As I am pretty new in that world, I do not know what interface to buy to be able to connect both my keyboard and my TR-8 to my Macbook Pro + my monitors.

So far, I have selected three potential candidates based on positive feedback and given my tight budget (around 300$/500$ tops).

• Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
  • Focusrite Saffire Pro 24
  • Steinberg UR44
  • Motu Audio Express

Can anyone recommend me one of these interfaces based on his/her personal experience?

Regards

Tanzverbot

I was using a Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 for a long time and it worked great. Audio quality was good and Focusrite Saffire hardware and software was pretty playful with others. I have since upgraded to a UA Apollo which is outstanding for my use. But a Saffire is a good choice in my opinion. And that may just be my opinion but I have some experience there.
Piz

I don’t have personal experience with any of these myself, but I’m sure either one would serve you well. They’re all well known product manufacturers you can trust.