I am a new user and am having trouble playing back the audio within Dorico. I click Play, I see the marker moving, but no audio actually plays. (Audio plays fine from the PC on other apps.) Is there a setting I need to adjust to hear the audio through Dorico? Any other troubleshooting tips? Thanks!
Welcome Woodinville!
Have you read this pinned thread? There’s a bunch of hints towards the end that you could probably use ![]()
Thanks all! Much appreciated.
If you still can’t get it to sound, please choose from Dorico’s main menu Help > Create Diagnostic Report.
That creates a zip file on your desktop. Please send that to ‘u dot stoermer at steinberg dot de’.
I have the same problem. I once heard my playback, not now. One of many questions! New user of Dorico SE 5.
Hi @Rebecca_J_Wood , welcome to the forum.
Please do the following: Create a new project from piano template and enter a few arbitrary notes. Then choose from Dorico’s menu Help > Create Diagnostic Report which will create a zip file on your Desktop. Please attach that one to a reply here. You can simply drag and drop it into the edit box where you write the reply.
From the data inside of that report I get a first overview and will then come back with further advice.
I tries to sign up. Thought I had. Will try again. Fixed the two unintentional flows. Now, I must get playback to sound. I also will use your instructions for what to do about sound.
Got my sound back in one of my 3 copies (For just in case I mess up one copy. I found that solution in my research in Dorico “If Dorico playback stopped working, you can try the following“. Play. Playback Template. Re-apply Template you want to use. That did it. I will be back to Forum. I need lots of direction at first. Thank you all for your help.
I’ve been having the same issue plus some others. I’ve sent an email since the zip file was too large to put in this space.
Hi @Barbara_Garrett , welcome to the forum and thanks for the data.
What I can see looks all quite normal. The only question I have is, where do you expect sound to come out from? Currently the output ports are
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (2- H 1 ). Since that is a digital output I suspect that is not what you want. To change that go the menu item Edit > Device Setup and in that dialog choose Device Control Panel, on where upon another little window opens. For the output ports there, do you have more choises, like e.g. the PC’s speakers? Change the tick mark in front of the desired port, then OK and close all dialogs and try again with the playback. Any better?
Wow! Thanks! Just created my first score and was trying to figure this out. That worked!
Hi - can I simply use General Midi (GM) coming from my computer instead of audio?
Space is limited on my works computer
Thanks,
John
What you should probably do is use an external SSD disk (they are light, very reliable and not that expensive now) to install sounds.
You probably want to remove your mail address @John_Wade for spam reasons.
Jesper
Hi @John_Wade , if you are on Win and still have the Microsoft GS Wavetable Synthesizer installed, then yes, it is possible.
Go to Play mode and click on the VST and MIDI tab, then under MIDI Instruments click on the little Plus button and there choose from the drop-down-list that Wavetable Synth.
I don’t have it installed, so there are only the MIDI ports listed with me. I’m just showing how it looks like with me without that synth in the list:
After that you go to the other tab, the Track Inspector and there you route the output of the corresponding track to the synth.
Hi I just uploaded Dorico Pro free trial yesterday, now I can’t hear no audio, curiously it worked quiet well with Dorico SE before. Please : is there anyone to help me with this issue ? Here is the diagnostic below. Thank you very much. Eric
Dorico Diagnostics.zip (1,3 Mo)
Do you have an ARM64-powered computer? If so, you need to make sure that you have installed the x86 versions of HALion Sonic 7 and Groove Agent SE via Steinberg Download Assistant.
Hi thanks, no I’m using Apple M1 Pro
Hi @ricobrinxmusic ,
actually the M1 chip is in fact ARM64.
M1 is the brand name for the from Apple developed main cpu and the silicon architecture of that cpu is ARM64, but that is not the problem in your case.
Your problem is that you need to go to Edit > Device Setup and in there click on Device Control Panel where upon another little window appears. In that new window on the bottom right you need to make sure that the output port is enabled. Once it is, sound will come through again.

