Audio Pull-up/down... How does it work?

Hello experts,

Im new to this whole video postproduction world. Read the manual, but I don´t quite understand how does this work.

Anyone care to explain how to choose which option to use from the Audio Pull up/down menu in project setup?

As you can see I´m completely lost here. :mrgreen: Please help! I really need to understand this!

First you need to explain what you want to achieve. :wink: It doesn’t have any use unless you need to alter the project or the export.

Well, that is my dilemma AlexBell, I´m writing a Nuendo course so I need to know what the function is used for, beyond showing the available options or copying what the manual says about them. I need to know “real world situations” where each option is relevant, useful and beneficial, but I don´t have access to movie footage transferred to NTSC or PAL video.

Do you see my predicament?

That is indeed a predicament! :open_mouth:

Is this for college or something? Lynda.com or Mac ProVideo may have courses, that your “audience” can watch, instead of putting yourself through this.

1 Like

When your project is in framerate “A” and the delivered video is in another framerate (B), you can “force” the video/project to play back at the other framerate, so both align.

Fredo

So, when “B” > “A”, is that “pulling up” ?

Thanks Fredo, that Makes perfect sense. Can you provide a “real life example” of when this kind of work would be necessary for commercial products?

Say that you have made a 30" TV commercial.
That TV commercial runs @ 25fps.
Clients also needs a version for Cinema.
DCP is running @ 24fps.
So the 25fps video will be running slower in cinema, and as a result will run for 31,250 seconds instead of 30". (-4%)
You, on the other hand, need to deliver audio that is 31.250 seconds long. (to match the longer video-running time)

There are different ways to do that.
The most common practice is stretching the audio. Making it longer, and pitching it up again.