Basic Audio Input to Audio Track

I’m running Cubase Elements 8 64 bit on a Win 7 64-bit OS. MOTU Audio Express interface. USB 2.0 connection. I am having difficulty getting a basic signal to the enabled audio track. Needless to say I’m a noob. If anyone can take a look at these screen shots and tell me what I am missing. I’ve chosen MOTU ASIO Audio as the driver. The track is enabled. I’ve chosen the Mic/Instrument Input 1 Mono. What am I missing ? Any help would be most sincerely appreciated.

What am I doing wrong here?

Let’s start here… A few things I see or don’t see.

You say you are trying to record an audio track through your moto input jack. I assume either through a mic or an instrument like a guitar.

I see a lot of assigned input busses but have you set an output buss correctly? It is tough to tell by the pics.

You could use a cubase project template but if creating your own you need to create a master stereo out track and assign the output of that audio track to it and the output of the master stereo out track to the moto output.

I see a flat lined audio signal on the track… Have you upped the gain on the moto enough to record an audible signal?

Also, you need to activate the track monitor to hear it while recording. It is the button that looks like a speaker to the right of the track record button (which I see is activated). During playback you need to deactivate the record and monitor functions.

Regards. :sunglasses:

Thanks for the response. So I have started a new project in Cubase so that I can reconfigure the Audio Inputs in VST Connections, just to make certain that I am doing it right. The following are the screen shots of the connections. I am having the same problem as earlier. I can hear the signal from my Guitar in the MOTU (Mark of the Unicorn) Audio Express USB Interface because I have my headphones plugged in to it. I can see there is a signal on the Mic/Instrument channel which is Line 1.

Try this…