Bass Clef Question

Dorico 5 SE. I’m new to this. I want to open e.g. Clair De Lune midi file in Dorico SE and see treble and bass clefs. So far, the entire song opens only in treble clef. I’ve searched and explored but there seems no way to do this. Must I upgrade Dorico? Tnx.

You should be able to add an F clef using the right-hand panel; or the Clef popover (SHIFT C, then type f).

MIDI files often don’t contain instrument data, and they can’t specify clefs.

The midi file format really cannot convey the details of piano notation needed in this piece. If you want to inspect the music as it should be, try looking for a MusicXML file. Musescore has tons of scores free for download in that format and others. (I see one by user RickyZ that gets the notation right.) Check out this page of the SE User Guide for more info.

1 Like

Hey benwiggy, thanks for responding. I gave your directions a try but I didn’t succeed. Perhaps I didn’t execute them correctly. If there’s a method buried within Dorico SE to convert a grand clef midi file for piano and convert it to standard piano notation, I can’t find it. Steinberg, as ususal, leaves very much to be desired when it comes to ease of use and intuitive help for right-brained people like myself.

If I right-click on the treble clef, a pop-out directs me to “manual staff visibility” which leads to the $80 upgrade page. Oh well.

My reply was about adding a clef, but from your picture, what you want is to add another staff – or rather, use an instrument with a grand staff.

As Mark points out, it’s nothing to do with Dorico not being “right-brained” – it’s that the MIDI file just has ‘notes’, and doesn’t split them onto two staves. (Or even separate voices.) If anything, it’s a case of “garbage in, garbage out”.

I’d agree with him that you can’t recreate the score easily from this MIDI file. You’d be better off entering it from scratch; or importing an XML file.