Beeping Noise! Audio Input in Cubase 6

Hi all!

My setup is: Windows 764b, 8gm rM, onboard HD realtek sound, onboard graphics.

I hope someone can help me. I am a very happy owner of Cubase 6, what an amazing product.

I just bought the AKAIPRO RPM 3 monitor/audio interface set. For 99euros, obviously I wanted to try these speakers, and build in interface because I am just a student with no money, and I recently bought a whole bunch of stuff:

Cubase 6, Complete Composers Collection EWQL, M AUDIO Keystation 88es, A desk etc. So before commenting with getting a better audio interface, I will! But I read reasonable reviews about the AKAIPRO RPM 3 and the speakers are actually kind of good! So here is my problem:

The AKAIPRO is an audio interface with no own driver, so in the manual it revers to ASIO4ALL. Cubase can see the device in VST connections, but when I activate the input in the ASIO4ALL control center, I hear over the headphones a very faint beep beep beep beep beep beep beep. However, If i turn up the gain of the track, the beep beep beep signal gets recorded!

I sent emails to AKAIPRO and they replied with a generic checklist of drivers in windows, replacing files, unplugging usb sticks etc. I have done that, but even OUTSIDE of cubase, for instance, when using Windows Sound Recorder, I hear the beep noise.

The audio interface DOES work, it records my bassguitar. I can even make songs, as the beep is not audible when multiple tracks are sounding. However, when I stop playback its there over the headphones, making a comfortable recording session impossible.

I hope someone recognises this problem

Thanks in advance

Is the beeping at a regular frequency? Or more random?

Sounds like it’s interference through the interface. Or a ground loop.
It also looks as though the only way those speakers ground is through the USB connection and inputs (since it’s only a 2 prong power connection).

Hi thanks for the reply