Beginner Needs Help Setting Up to do Drum Covers

I’m an absolute beginner and not a “techie” - using Cubase Elements 10.5 as my DAW (on a PC) and Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 as my audio interface. I have the Shure PGA Drum Kit 7 setup for mics. So far almost nothing about this process is intuitive for me. I have read “The Complete Guide to Music Technology Using CUBASE 10.5” which was informative but not the step by step assistance I was looking for. As mentioned in the subject line, I wish to make drum covers using my acoustic kit with mics. I would import the song I wish to cover as an MP3 file and add my drums. Does anyone have experience setting up in CUBASE for this purpose? And would you be willing to walk me through the process?

Hi and welcome,

• Open Studio > Audio Connections > Inputs.
  • Click to Add Bus and add 8 Mono Buses.
  • Set the Device Port to your Focusrite Inputs 1-8.
  • You can even double-click to the Bus Name to rename it. So if you know your Kick is Input 1, you can rename the Bus.
  • Close the window.
  • Import the MP3 file.
  • Add 8 Audio Mono tracks. (You can double-click to the track name to rename it.)
  • For every single Audio track, set the Input in the Inspecotr’s 1st tab.
  • Choose Mono In 1, Mono In 2, etc., or if you name the busses, choose the name of the input.
  • Every single Audio Mono track has to have unique input.
  • Enable Record on all Audio Mono tracks, you have created.
  • Hit Record on the Transport panel.

Thanks so much Martin. Couple of questions:

• Once I set up the inputs, is the OUTPUT “Stereo” and Device Ports “Output 1 and Output 2”?
  • Do I need to set up any inputs/outputs for the MP3 file? Right now I have it as “Stereo IN” and “NOT CONNECTED” to Audio Device
  • How do I play this MP3 track while recording on the other tracks? Last night I was trying to play the MP3 and record my kick drum, but couldn’t get
    the MP3 file to play while I was in record mode.