Beringer X Touch Solved

Can anyone tell me if the X Touch works well with Cubase 12? I am wanting something more interactive than the Nektar P 1.

Thanks in advance.

Yes. I’ve been using the X touch together with an Extender for several years now. Works great.

Would strongly recommend reading through the Steinberg Remote Control Devices document once you get the X touch since the Behringer documentation is non-existent.

1 Like

Thanks for the positive reply. Did you have to create a script of your own? Perhaps it was simpler than that. Is it easy to get to grips with the SRCD document?

I ended up with a Faderport after my CC121 died. It’s fantastic, and there’s a brilliant script here on the forum. with a look.

No, did not need to create any script. Just make sure you set it up in Mackie Control mode.

What really helped was getting the Overlay for Cubase that Jan Diertens makes and then assigned some functions and shortcuts to assignable keys. Great for switching mixer configurations.

1 Like

Thanks very much. That is useful to know. The X Touch may be old but it still is good?

How is the capability to control VSTs? Does it work out of the box?

Lots of twiddling…it does work out of the box. But I needed the Remote Devices document to figure it out. How often do I use the XTouch to control VST parameters? Not very often. Reaching for the mouse is still (for me) faster most of the time.

What I do use for extensively is automation: faders, mute, solo, record enable. Also the transport section and switching mixer configurations (to just Groups, Guitars, Vox…or All, for example), plus controlling some Control Room functions with a press of a button (switch to Monitor B, switch to headphones and so on).

1 Like