Berklee College Cubase 7 Course - Any grads here?

Hi.

As much as I appreciate the YouTube videos that Steinberg and others have donated to the web (thanks Mr. Honeycutt - you got me going, at least), and the 1000 pages of Cubase manuals to grind through, I’m starting to feel the need for some professional guidance. I don’t think I can stand another YouTube hour of someone randomly clicking all over a very complex mix console without explaining exactly what they’re doing. I’m new to both Cubase and to using a DAW. (The last time I edited music, it was with tape and a razor blade on a TASCAM multitrack. I’ve been out of the game for a while while working on a business degree and making a living. Time flies and things went digital while I was busy elsewhere. )

The Cubase course on the Berkleemusic.com website is well over $1000. My question to anyone who took and passed that course is - do you get great value from that kind of investment? Does it save you time and agony and give you real world help? Has anybody here taken “Producing Music With Cubase” from Berklee? If so, what’s your opinion of the instructor, the curriculum, and the usefulness of the course?

Thanks from Kelowna, BC, Canada.

Aloha O, IMHO,

At $1000 ask yourself how serious are you about doing this?

Are you hoping one day to compete with the ‘Big Boys’ or is
this just a hobby for you?

Maybe even a serious hobby.

Now that you have watched all the free vids (utube/Cubase etc)
and before spending $1000, perhaps try out one or two paid tutorials.

There are several good ones out there and they may give you all the info you need.

Modern DAWS do it all. And many users will never need all the features available.

Folks doing ‘beats’ may never need the score/notation feature.

And those doing only MIDI may never need to learn how to ‘comp audio’
or xfade tracks.

Perhaps a paid tut might help sort out your direction and they
don’t cost ton’s o’ bucks.

HTH (hope this helps)
{‘-’}

BTW