Best MIDI (Full Keys) Keyboard-Controller for under USD $300?

KorgTrinity

While my 61 keys Korg Trinity workstation shown above was a breakthrough in the mid 1990s owned by scores of top musicians, it keeps causing some MIDI/VST tracks to go out of tune* right in the middle of playing into Cubase which is driving me nuts.

(* Later edit: I’ve already responded to the post directly below on the cause of this glitch - rogue pitch-bend - that I brought up in a separate OP a while back).

I’m also not using the onboard combi/programs like I used to due to how advanced modern VSTi and the like are.

I’m basically using it as a controller-keyboard now. But really just for playing - I have no experience with modern controllers and how sophisticated they are in DAW integration (my Korg has little to none).

So…

My guess is that for the price of taking it to a repair shop, I could get a modern 49 keys keyboard-controller (61 keys is nice but not necessary), yet I am drowning in the options out there.

I’ve heard that Nektar (i.e. Panorama T4 or LX49+ in this price range) is good for integration with Cubase, and while I do have NI Komplete Kontrol 13, I still don’t use Kontakt that much so far, so not sure the NI controllers would be a better choice.

Oh, and as subject line states, I want full size keys, not mini.

Input welcome.

If your VSTi get out of tune when playing with the trinity, maybe it is sending some spurious pitch bend/controller data. You could check that with the MIDI monitor plugin on the MIDI/instrument track. If you know what unnecessary data the trinity is sending, you could filter out those with the”Transformer” MIDI plugin, which is essentially the MIDI logical editor.
Doesn’t really work of course if the culprit is the pitch or mod wheel which you’d need otherwise (I have the old Korg MS20 controller, which has a broken mod wheel that sends random data)