Best way to dump out individual tracks?

Hey guys, I’m relatively new to Cubase and I’m wondering what the best way to bounce out individual tracks is.

The problem is that I’ve got mixed instrument tracks and MIDI tracks. The instrument tracks are straightforward, but my MIDI tracks (most pointing to Kontakt 4) are not. In the audio mixdown dialog, I have to go into batch mode and check off the VST instrument channels. But they’re named “Kt. st.1”, “Kt. st.2”, etc while the MIDI channels are obviously named correctly (Vlns 1, Vlns 2, etc). It seems like I either have to go through the trouble of naming my channels twice (once for the MIDI and once for the VST inst channel) or just dump them out and manually rename each “Kt st” WAV to match what it really is. This seems like a pain. Is there some easier way to do this?

Thanks in advance!

You can rename the channel that the VSTi goes through but you can’t rename the VSTi outputs themselves. So, you could render the output channel and see a nice name. Some people go to the trouble of keeping the main VSTi channel clear of inserts and then bussing that channel to a group channel where they apply inserts. Does that help?

Mike.

No, I’m afraid you lost me. And actually I am able to rename the VST outs if I open the mixer and double click on one of the Kontakt outs, it lets me rename it. If we’re talking about the same thing, that is…

Yes, that’s how you rename the channels of the VSTi, and yes, you have to do it twice once for the midi track and once for the audio output track. I think that now answers your question - but it’s late here :slight_smile:

I’ve not used instrument tracks, I guess they roll this business into one, but they’re only stereo so not much good in your situation I don’t think.