Built In Audio; LATENCY

Hi, I’m a Cubase newbie going through the online tutorials. In Devices Setup, VST Audio System, the Built-in Audio Input Latency is >13msec, and the Output Latency is >14msec:

(I currently have no audio interface hooked up to this brand new iMac.)

Those latency’s are rather high, no? The online tutorial states "Anything above 5msec will begin to be noticeable. I apologize if I’m overlooking the obvious. Any insight you can provide to this newbie will be appreciated.

What are your buffers set to? Do you know how to change them?

I have now checked latency at various buffer settings. Here is an example screenshot documenting these measurements:

From this screenshot, one can see that at Buffer Size 512 Samples, Input Latency (IL) is 32ms and Output Latency (OL) is 32 ms.
Here are other measurements:

Buffer SizeInput LatencyOutput Latency
512…32ms…32ms
384…23ms…26ms
256…15ms…20ms
192…10ms…17ms
128…9.4ms…14ms
64…5.9ms…11ms

All of the above measurements were made under the same conditions, after the iMac computer had sat all night in sleep mode, with the following apps loaded (not running) in the background (not including Cubase):
Finder, Safari, Chrome, Itunes, Quicktime, Activity Monitor, Preview. I also had a USB MIDI keyboard plugged in.

I tried unplugging and plugging in the keyboard, and turning off the background apps one at a time. There was no appreciable difference in the above values in doing so.

I rebooted the machine, and took the following couple of measurements, after opening and closing Chrome (the MIDI keyboard, and of course eLicenser, were still plugged into USB ports):

Buffer SizeInput LatencyOutput Latency
512…32ms…32ms
128…9.5ms…14ms

Are not these latency values for Built-In Audio extremely high?!