Built in noise reduction in Cubase!

There should be a noise reduction plugin included with cubase or in spectralayers one at least!
How to achieve this task without buying additional plugins ?
Been using the reaFIT from reaplugs, a free 64 bits plugins, but crashes CB most of the times i try to render the audio!

That’s what programs like Wavelab are for. Cubase is for making music not cleaning up audio.

there seems to be quite a body of evidence suggesting that SpectraLayers One included with Cubase is very useful for noise reduction

https://www.google.com/search?q=cubase+noise+reduction+using+spectralayers+one

Or simpler noise gating:

Thanks for your reply.
As a mixing engineer I spend some time fixing bad recordings, noise reduction is a process that makes part of it. A daw with such capability is important this days.
I own WaveLab for other tasks but maybe I can get one to communicate with the other for this purpose. Well tought.

The included spectralayers doesn’t seem to be capable of this task, maybe in the elements version and up. I’ll have another close look into it.

Spectralayers One does have noise reduction.

Noise Reduction (learning the noise of a recording and then removing it), exists from Elements and up. I agree it would be much much useful if it was included in One, but hey! It’s their call. I bought Spectralayers Elements for exactly this reason.

Edit: By the way, it’s great workflow to just select the event, apply a Spectralayers ARA extension, have Spectralayers in the lower zone, do the Noise Reduction Process there and continue working, all while never leaving Cubase. I like it very much for some outboard gear that is a bit noisy (Preamp + Comp). Slapping a gate there doesn’t help, because when the gate opens, you are flooded with the hiss and noise. Noise reduction does a great job without compromising the original audio too much. It’s great really.

3 Likes

You’re right, I was looking at the wrong part of the manual.