Can Cubase achieve a very punchy low end?

Hi everyone! In two days I have been using Cubase for two months. The more I learn to use this DAW, the more I love it. Anyway it’s not the first DAW I’ve used.
Last year I started this amazing adventure in the world of the music production in the box almost from scratch. Being oriented towards the Urban/Hip Hop world but also Indie rock, it was a bit difficult for me, to understand which DAW and which workflow I considered most congenial to my creative expression.
I started with FL Studio, then tried Studio One for a smoother workflow. I installed Reaper but it’s more suitable on the mixing side. I also made some projects on Ableton Intro version.
Then I met Cubase and in two months I’m studying it and I’m trying to transfer all my skills into this wonderful DAW.

But… I noticed a detail that maybe is the result of my lack of experience and knowledge of Cubase stock plugins.
I have noticed sonic differences between all the different Digital Audio Workstations used.

Here, I have the impression that the kick drum on Cubase fails to achieve a punchy sound as required in musical genres such as Drill, Trap while it is excellent for old style Hip Hop, the classic Boom Bap. Can anyone confirm my impression? And above all, dear Steinberg developers, will you make me this nice surprise in Cubase 13 of some plugin that with a little push gives you that imperative kick punch like it happens on Ableton with Saturator and “soft clip” activated?
Cubase deserves to be appreciated by beat makers too :slight_smile:

EDIT: Well done, I nearly achivied that sound with a blending combo Squasher + Maximazer :slight_smile:

Hi,

You can also try to have a look to the Envelope Shaper plug-in.

1 Like

Squasher is simply incredible!! It has transformed my synth sounds to a different level!

2 Likes

Yes, I tried Envelop Shaper… it gives more attack but the body isn’t enough punchy… I’m looking for a sound with both those characteristics.