Can I buy just the USB licenser at a local music store?

Hello all,

I wanted to upgrade from Cubase AI to Cubase Pro 10 from the online shop of Steinberg. The only thing is that the USB licenser dongle, which Cubase Pro needs, comes upto 4 times the cost including shipping and other customs and taxes in my country.

I have seen Cubase and the licenser dongle sold seperately in many stores online and locally. So can I buy the downloadable version of Cubase at the Steinberg online store and purchase the license dongle at a local store? Will that work?

I am very new to dongle licenses. Would really appreciate if anyone can answer my noob question. :slight_smile:

Thank you!

You can do as you propose - buy the USB eLicenser locally and buy the downloadable version of the Cubase Pro upgrade online. Make sure that you decline any suggestion to buy a USB eLicenser alongside your upgrade purchase; you might find one has been added to your online store shopping basket that you need to delete before checking out.

I got my USB eLicenser from Amazon UK when I bought Cubase Pro - with Amazon Prime I had the eLicenser the evening I ordered it and paid a negligible amount more than having an eLicenser shipped from the online store. If the eLicenser is more expensive online, it makes sense to buy it locally.

Enjoy Cubase Pro when you upgrade.

Hey David,

Thanks for the quick reply! Yes I plan on doing exactly what you did. Did you buy Cubase at the Steinberg store or some other online store? Because I just checked and I might have to buy it from Sweetwater because of payment methods. Are there any other stores online where I can get a cubase upgrade?

Reading your reply, it seems that the software can be bought at any store and the dongle at any different store and the licenses will work. Did I get that right? Just trying to wrap my head around this dongle business.