Can you help me identify a MIDI controller please?

I’ve done a bunch of looking, and haven’t found one that has all my boxes checked (to introduce myself, I’m a self taught piano player who’s always had a Steinway upright acoustic wherever I’ve lived my whole life, and I’ve *never used a MIDI controller).

Here’s the seemingly impossible set of criteria I’d like my controller to have:
-61 keys, full “real piano” width

• piano- like key action (hammer, weighted)
    -at least 8 pots, 8 faders, some decent pads would be OK, but not necessary
  • Good Cubase integration (in practice, not just advertised to be so, In looking at many comments about *you, Nektar Panorama T4/6!)
    -Is *not a workstation (waste of money in my use case)

Is that an impossible combination of criteria and I’ll have to jettison some, or is there a beautiful jewel out there just waiting for me to buy it?

Thanks for any thoughts!

To my knowledge only 88 keys are sold with ‘hammer action’.

What do you want/expect or mean with this?

Cubase has this MIDI remote capability that allows virtually any keyboard to communicate through MIDI.

I could list the models I know of, but I think you already did your research …
There is a 73 key hammer action Clavia Nord Piano 5 but it has no real Cubase integration.

I am afraid you will have to choose between 61 keys or Hammer action. (but let us know if you find the perfect combination :wink:

Good luck anyhow!

1 Like

Agreed that “real piano” action usually comes with 88 keys.

Food for thought:
Don’t try to get everything perfect in 1 unit.
First select a good piano (prob. 88 keys…), I prefer by far the Roland keybeds, PHA4/PHA50.
Then pick a small ctrl with a all the pots/faders/pads you like. There are many to choose from (my fav.: Akai), from $50 to $500.

Everything in 1 unit: RD-2000… but mucho $$.

Final advise - The most expensive gear I bought has always been the one I had to replace after 1-2 years because I started too cheap…