Can't figure out how to record audio

Hi, sorry I’m a newbie to all this, just got Cubase Elements 7.

I have a Yamaha S90ES keyboard running through a Tascam US-144 into my computer.

It apparently is getting a signal, because when I press keys, the audio activity bar in the bottom right corner goes up. I configured everything according to this tutorial video:

setting the VST connections etc., and although this video deals with Cubase 4 it’s all similar enough.

So I pressed “record enable” on one track and started recording, but even though the audio activity bar does stuff like I said, nothing gets recorded. Any suggestions?